What’s Wrong with Purple Prose?

Purple Prose copy

Absolutely nothing. As a teenager, I used to sneak my mother’s Harlequin novels into my room and read under the cover of darkness. Ah, purple prose. [Purple prose is when a writer is ‘unnecessarily flowery.’] Basically it means they describe something as everything except what it is. As a teenager, that was fine. As an adult, that doesn’t cut it.

I found this article by Deb Stover and found it illuminating.

An avid reader, I went through my mother’s collection rather quickly. I also found myself reading them for the humor or action, not the romance. As I grew older, my tastes changed. I wanted…more.

I found it with Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series. Vampire or Werewolf? Why not both? Hmmm….

[If you are not familiar with Laurell K. Hamilton’s ABVH series, think Twilight, but for adults.]

Then I found Kresley Cole and Sherrilyn Kenyon. Boy, were my eyes opened! Having devoured their books, I soon ran out of reading material.

Luckily, I found Laurann Dohner’s New Species series. Tiger was the first book I read. At first I was shocked, horrified by the graphic language and graphic sex. I blushed. My heart sped up. I became….aroused! Needless to say, I quickly found other books in the series. (Valiant is my favorite one.)

So if you haven’t tried erotica because you are scared/ashamed/horrified by graphic language and graphic description of sex, you should try it at least once. You might find that you like it, and once you’re hooked, there’s no going back.

It might even improve your sex life. Trust me. I know.

Leave a Reply

